Should I use SQL vs NoSQL for files catalog?

• I will be implementing a system which will be storing 250 Million files/user. I want to perform list operations from the client side, where the client application will be fetching 100 records at a time.

What is the record I will be fetching?

• File_name
    • last modified
    • https URI for that file stored in S3 like storage.

On the server-side should I use SQL or No-SQL to store this meta data information?

I was thinking about using an RDBMS with following schema:

• UserID
    • recordid
    • fileName
    • timestamp
    • URI

As the fetch query just needs to return 100 records at a time, I was thinking SQL. If we save all the user information in a single row in NoSQL it would take a long time to query next-100 records Or append new files for a particular users.

Any suggestions? I am new to this, so please let me know if my question is too vague/broad and I can update it for any specific questions.

• Your use case is of the simplest kind, so you'd likely see very similar performance regardless if you used a RDBMS or NoSQL system. But here are the things you should actually consider when deciding on a database system:

1. Do you have a well structured schema?

Answer: Yes, it appears you do when you're able to directly articulate the structure of that schema by specifying the fields and their data types: UserId, RecordId, FileName, Timestamp, URI

2. Will your schema be changing at a high frequency, more than you'd be able to keep the database entity structure up to date with?