Why do "remote desktop" software (allegedly) commonly have a "blackout" feature?
I've been watching videos of scammers being tricked. Frequently, the scammer makes their scam victim install some weird "remote desktop" program claimed to be for tech support purposes. These programs apparently allow the person connecting to the host (victim) computer to "black the screen" so that it becomes impossible for them to see what's being done.
Why would any legitimate "remote desktop" software have such a feature? What non-scam purpose could there be for that?
So that passers-by cannot see what you are doing on your computer.
If you are connecting remotely to a computer in an office, then everyone could see everything you type and you would not know.
It is a basic, expected, and legitimate feature. (By the way, that's the top 8 remote desktop programs each with a "blank screen" feature for the express purpose of privacy. I could keep looking up more apps, but that would seem to be redundant.)